I’m a 30-year-old full-time employee and community college dropout. I was born, raised and remain in a small town in East Tennessee.

I’m an INTJ-T. I love summer, Harry Potter, Ford Mustangs, traveling, books, cats and the moon. I hate heights, undercooked steaks and talking in front of more than one or two people.

In April 2016, I became the wife of a police officer (38 y.o.), stepmother of a cheerleader (7 y.o.) and companion of a tiny, murderous black cat.

In August of that same year, my new husband and I reached Dave Ramsey’s Baby Step 6.

On September 1, 2016, we began living on the higher of our two incomes and started using the lower income solely as mortgage principal payments.

We estimated that we would have our mortgage paid off in two years, but it only took 17 months.

On January 29, 2018, we made our final mortgage payment and became 100% debt free.

Over the next seven months, we made home improvements, bought new furniture, a new lawnmower and a new-to-us truck. We went on our first international trip to attend three games of the FIFA World Cup in Russia, which was a dream of mine since I was a kid.

As of September 1, 2018, we are now saving $100,000 in two years to purchase our first rental property with cash.

I am not interested in personal finance or money – I’m interested in freedom. Everything else is just means to an end.

This blog will never tell you what to do or speak on experiences I have not lived through. I am here to share my own, obsessive journey to financial independence with the goal of quitting my job and choosing how I spend my precious time.

The names are fake. The thoughts, ideas, feelings, hopes, fears, strategies and numbers are real.

I hope you find inspiration and learn from my successes and failures along the way!

Advertisements